

Harnessing the Demographic Dividend through investments in Youth



DIRECTORATE OF INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATION

PRESS RELEASE Nº18/28AU Summit

28TH AU SUMMIT - ELECTED AND APPOINTED MEMBERS OF THE AFRICAN UNION COMMISSION AND ITS ORGANS

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia 1st February 2017: During the 28th Ordinary Summit of the African Union which concluded on 31st January at the African Union Headquarters, elections for the Bureau of the Chairperson, The Deputy Chairperson and Commissioners were held as well as appointment of members to the African Union Advisory Board on Corruption ,the appointment of judges of the African Court on Human and People's Rights (AfCHPR) and appointment a member of the African Union Commission on International Law (AUCIL).

Chairperson of the African Union Commission	H.E Mr. Faki Moussa Mahamat (Chad)
Deputy Chairperson	H.E. Mr. Thomas Kwesi Quartey (Ghana)
Commissioner for Peace and Security	H.E. Mr. Smail Chergui (Algeria)
Commissioner for Political Affairs	H.E. Ms. Minata Cessouma Samate (Burkina Faso)
Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy	H.E. Ms. Amani Abou-Zeid (Egypt)
Commissioner for Social Affairs	H.E. Ms. Amira Mohammed Elfadil (Sudan)
Commissioner for Trade and Industry	H.E. Mr. Albert M. Muchanga (Zambia)
Commissioner for Rural Economy and Agriculture	H.E. Ms. Correa Leonel Josefa Sacko (Angola)

The Commissioners for Economic Affairs and Human Resources Science and Technology will be communicated at a later date.

The appointed Members of the African Union Advisory Board on Corruption are

Mr. Begoto Miarom (Chad), Mr. John Kithome Tuta (Kenya), Mr. Paulus Kalomho (Namibia), Ms. Florence Ziyambi (Zimbabwe), Mr. Pascal Bamouni (Burkina Faso), Mr. Daniel Batidam (Ghana) and Ms. Elisabeth Gnansounou Fourn (Benin).

The appointed judges of the African Court on Human and People's Rights (AFCHPR) are Ms. Chafika Bensaoula from Algeria and Ms. Rose Tujilane Chizumila from Malawi

The appointed member of the African Union Commission on International law is Ms. Kathleen Quartey Ayensu from Ghana.

For inquiries, contact: Esther Azaa Tankou | Head of Information Division | | African Union Commission | Tel: (251) 11 551 77 00 | Fax: (251) 11 551 78 44 | E-mail: Yamboue@africa-union.org

For further information: Directorate of Information and Communication | African Union Commission I E-mail: DIC@africanunion.org I Web Site: www.au.int I Addis Ababa | Ethiopia Follow us Face book: https://www.facebook.com/AfricanUnionCommission Twitter: https://twitter.com/_AfricanUnion YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/AUCommission