Deputy Chairperson

The Deputy Chairperson assists the Chairperson in the execution of his or her functions and ensures the smooth running of the Commission in relation to administrative and financial issues. The Deputy acts as the Chairperson in his or her absence.

The Deputy Chairperson is elected by the AU Executive Council and appointed by the
Assembly for a four-year term, renewable once (Commission Statutes, article 10).

Deputy Chairpersons
Quartey Thomas Kwesi, Ghana (2017 - Current)
Erastus Mwencha, Kenya (2008–2017)
Patrick Kayumba Mazimhaka, Rwanda (2003–08)