Specialised Agencies, Technical Offices, Treaty Bodies and other Institutions

Economic Bodies

AU Institute for Statistics (STATAFRIC)

Department of Economic Affairs African Union Commission Roosevelt Street


PO Box 3243
Addis Ababa

The main purpose of the AU Institute for Statistics (STATAFRIC) will be to regulate and coordinate the African statistics system, by harmonising the production of statistics, and to provide quality statistics for evidence-based decisions in support of the African Integration Agenda. The vision for STATAFRIC is for it to become the centre of reference for quality statistics on Africa.

STATAFRIC is mandated to:
• Consolidate data collected by Member States and ensure it is comparable
• Harmonise statistical methodology by using common statistical language that embraces concepts, methods, structure and technical standards.

Establishment of the Institute, to be based in Tunis, Tunisia, was approved by the AU Assembly at its January 2013 Summit (AU/Dec./462(XX)). A business plan was approved by the
Directors-General of African national statistics offices in 2013. A roadmap is being developed for the operationalisation of the Institute in 2015.

STATAFRIC will be a technical agency of the AU Commission and will be governed by the organs of the Commission.

Education, Human Resources, Science and Technology Bodies

Pan African Youth Union (PYU)
Alasam Street
Taif Khartoum Sudan
Tel: +249 183 526 694
Fax: +249 183 526 695

Email: info@panafricanyouth-union.org
Internet: www.pyu-upj.org
Facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/Pan- African-Youth-Union/165736763449708
Twitter: @pyupj

President: Yershen Pillay, South Africa (Bureau President 2011–14; elected by the Congress) Secretary-General: Tendai Wenyika Gava, Zimbabwe

The Pan African Youth Union (PYU) is a specialised agency responsible for coordinating regional bodies serving African youth. In addition to coordinating youth councils throughout Africa, the Union’s objective is to gather and mobilise young Africans on all continents to realise the ideals and strategies of the AU, including unity, peace, democracy, sustainable development and African integration.

The Union promotes the ratification and implementation of the African Youth Charter (2006); lobbies governments to have national youth policies and legislative frameworks that are responsive to youth; advocates for youth to be part of national decision-making processes; and promotes regional and continental integration in youth development efforts.

The Union was established in 1963. It was previously known as the Pan African Youth Movement.

The Union’s structure includes a congress, executive committee, regional bodies and specialised committees. The Executive Committee comprises the President, 12 Member States and three regional or international youth organisations. Members are elected at the Congress for three-year terms. The Bureau comprises the President and the 12 Executive Committee Member States. A secretariat manages administration.

The Congress meets every three years, most recently in Khartoum, Sudan, in 2011. The next Congress meeting was scheduled to take place in South Africa from 29 November to
2 December 2014. The Executive Committee meets at least twice a year, most recently in
September 2014 in Bamako, Mali.

Executive Board members 2011–14

A new Executive Board was scheduled to be elect