An Integrated, Prosperous and Peaceful Africa.

Top Banner Slides

The Executive Council

The Executive Council works in support of the AU Assembly and is responsible to the Assembly. All Member States participate in the Executive Council, usually at Foreign Minister level.

Article 13 of the AU Constitutive Act mandates the Executive Council to coordinate and take decisions on policies in areas of common interest to Member States, consider issues referred to it and monitor the implementation of Assembly policies. The same article sets out a detailed list of substantive policy areas ranging from foreign trade, energy, agriculture and the environment to humanitarian response, health, social security and disability.

executive council sub-committees
The Executive Council has three sub-committees operating at ministerial level.