**AFRICAN UNION** 

الاتحاد الأفريقي

**UMOJA WA AFRIKA** 

**UNION AFRICAINE** 

**UNIÃO AFRICANA** 

**UNIÓN AFRICANA** 

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia P. O. Box 3243 Telephone: +251 115 517 700 Fax: +251 115 517 844 Website: <u>www.au.int</u>

MYCM/AU/Draft/Prog(VI)

## SIXTH (6<sup>TH</sup>) MID-YEAR COORDINATION MEETING

DRAFT WORK PROGRAMME 21 July 2024 Accra, Ghana

As at 12 July 2024

## MYCM/AU/Draft/Prog(VI) Page 2

No.	ltem	Time	Annotation	Reference Documents
		OPEN S	ESSION	
1.	Opening	10h00-10h30	<ul> <li>AU Anthem</li> <li>Statement by <i>H.E. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, President of the Republic of Ghana</i></li> <li>Statement by <i>H.E. Moussa Faki Mahamat</i>, Chairperson of the Commission of the African Union</li> <li>Opening Statement by <i>H.E. Mohamed Cheikh El Ghazouani</i>, <i>President of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania and Chairperson of the African Union</i></li> </ul>	
			- Group Photo	
		SED SESSION	- Coffee break	
2.	Meeting Work Programme	10h40-10h50	<ul> <li>Consideration and Adoption of the Work</li> <li>Programme by Secretary to the Commission</li> </ul>	Draft Work Programme
3.	Status of Regional Integration by RECs and RMs	10h50-12h20	<ul> <li>Statements by Excellencies Chairpersons of RECs on Status of Regional Integration of their respective RECs:</li> <li>1. H.E Mohammad Younis Menfi, President of the Presidency Council of the State of Libya and current Chairperson of the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU)</li> <li>2. H.E. Mahamat Idriss Deby, President of the Republic of Chad and current Chairperson of the Community for Sahel-Saharan States (CENSAD)</li> <li>3. H.E. Hakainde Hichilema, President of the Republic of Zambia and current Chairperson of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa(COMESA)</li> <li>4. H.E Salva Kiir, President of the Republic of South Sudan and current Chairperson of the East African Community (EAC)</li> <li>5. H.E Teodoro Nguema Obiang Mbasogo, President of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea and current Chairperson of the Economic</li> </ul>	

				Page
			Community of Central African States (ECCAS) to	
			be represented by H.E Teodoro Nguema	
			Obiang Mangue, Vice President of Equatorial	
			Guinea	
			6. H.E Bola Ahmed Tinubu, President of Republic	
			of Nigeria and current Chairperson of the	
			Economic Community of West African States	
			(ECOWAS)	
			7. H.E. Ismail Omar Guelleh, President of the	
			Republic of Djibouti and current Chairperson of	
			theInter-GovernmentalAuthority on	
			Development (IGAD)	
			8. H.E JOE Manuel Gonçalves Lourenço,	
			President of the Republic of Angola and current	
			Chairperson of Southern African Development	
			Community (SADC)	
			Regional Mechanisms (RMs)	
			1) <b>H.E Paul Kagame</b> , President of the Republic of Rwanda and current Chair of the Summitof the	
			Eastern Africa Standby Force	
			2) <b>H.E Abdelmadjid Tebboune</b> , President of the	
			People's Democratic Republic of Algeria and	
			current Chair of the North African Regional	
			Capability	
			African Union Development Agency (AUDA-NEPAD)	
			H.E Abdel Fattah El-Sisi, President of the Arab	
			Republic of Egypt and the Chair of Heads of State	
			and Government Orientation Committee (HSGOC) of	
			the African Union Development Agency (AUDA-	
			NEPAD)	
4.	Key Continental	12h20 <i>-12h30</i>	H.E. Akinwumi A. Adesina, President of African	
	Initiatives of the		Development Bank	
	African Development			
	Bank			
L		1		

## MYCM/AU/Draft/Prog(VI) Page 4

				Page
5. 5	Status of Continental Integration	12h30-12h40	Presentation by H.E. Albert M. Muchanga, Commissioner for Economic Development, Trade, Tourism, Industry and Minerals, AU Commission	Status of Continental Integration
6. (	Report on AU Financial Institutions (AUFIs)	12h30-12h40	<b>H.E Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo,</b> President of the Republic of Ghana, AU Champion on Financial Institutions	
7.	Scaling Up Interoperability: Using Mobile Money to buy and sell Across Africa	12h40 – 12h50	<b>H.E Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo,</b> President of the Republic of Ghana, AU Champion on Financial Institutions	
8. 8	Report by Champion on AfCFTA	12h50-13h00	<b>H.E. Mahamadou Issoufou</b> , AU Champion on the AfCFTA on the progress of the AfCFTA	
9.	Coordination and harmonization of AU/REC Policies	13h00-13h10	<b>H.E Ambassador Bankole Adeoye</b> , Commissioner for Political Affairs, Peace and Security, AUC	2 <sup>nd</sup> Annual Report on the activities of the Inter-Regional Knowledge Exchange (I-RECKE) on early warning and conflict prevention
10.	Establishment of Mechanisms for Cooperation on each Sector / Division of Labour	13h10-13h30	Prof Pierre Moukoko Mbonjo, Head of the AU Reform Implementation Unit, AU Commission	Report on the Divisionof Labour
11.	Lunch Break	13h30-14h30	LUNCH BREAK	
12.	Conclusions of the firstInternational Conference on Afforestation	14h40-14h50	<b>H.E Denis Sassou Nguesso</b> , President of the Republic of Congo and Second Vice Chairperson of Bureau of the Assembly	
13.	Draft Declaration	14h50-15h20	Presentation of Draft Declaration by Secretary to the Commission, for adoption	Draft Declaration
14.	Any Other Business	15h20-15h30	Any Other Business	

15	5. Closing Remarks	15h30-15h40	- H.E. Mohamed Cheikh El Ghazouani, President	
			of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania and	
			Chairperson of the African Union	
			- AU Anthem	
			- END	