AFRICAN UNION

الاتحاد الأفريقي

Economic, Social and Cultural Council ECOSOCC

المجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي والثقافي للاتحاد الإفريقي



UNION AFRICAINE

UNIÃO AFRICANA

Conseil Economique, Social et Culturel ECOSOCC

Conselho Económico, Social E Cultural da União Africana

REPORT Establishment of the Interim National ECOSOCC Chapter (INEC) Mauritius

[1] Elections at the 2nd Permanent General Assembly of AU ECOSOCC



On 22nd December 2014,
ANPRAS (Dr G.Raj Chintaram)
and MACOSS (Mr. Daneshar
Babooa) were elected as
members of the 2nd Permanent
General Assembly of the African
Union's Economic Social &
Cultural Council (ECOSOCC) in
Nairobi, Kenya.



Elections for the Standing Committee followed in Cairo in February 2015.

Dr G.Raj Chintaram (Mauritius) was elected as Chairperson of the Sectoral Cluster Committee on 'Infrastructure & Energy'; which encompasses portfolios of communication, energy, infrastructure, tourism and transport.

[2] Establishment of Interim National ECOSOCC Chapter (INEC) Mauritius

In August 2015, the wider civil society from Mauritius was invited to embark on INEC; CSO mass mailing and social media adverts were used for the purpose. The National President, in consultation with the Standing Committee Member from Mauritius conducted a number of stakeholder meetings and eventually ratified 'Cluster Heads' for the local cluster committees on 05th September 2015.

[3] PR Event for AU ECOSOCC



On the 12th September 2015, ANPRAS organized the 'Climate & Tourism Day' during which it launched the 'African Youth Initiative on Climate Change' (Mauritius) and the 'ANPRAS-STORSA Awards 2016' to reward eco & responsible tourism endeavours.



The event was held at Hennessy Park Hotel, Ebene and The Hon. Jayeshwur Raj Dayal, CSK, PDSM, QPM, Minister of Environment, Sustainable Development, Disaster & Beach Management and the Hon Malini Sewocksingh, Member of the Pan African Parliament graced the event.



Mr. Daneshar Babooa; National President INEC (Mauritius) had his maiden speech in the said capacity. He gave an overview about the origins and functions of ECOSOCC and further elaborated on the Nairobi & Cairo elections.

Dr. G.Raj Chintaram addressed in his capacity of Chairman of ANPRAS. At the start of the event, the AU Anthem was officially played and Dr Chintaram announced that ANPRAS has made it mandatory to play AU anthem in all its official events. He called upon the representatives of Government present to adopt the same for governmental functions. Dr Chintaram talked about the significance of the month of September for both the African Union (Sirte Declaration) and the ECOSOCC (Tanzania, 2008). During his speech he made an appeal to Hon Sewocksingh of the Pan African Parliament to collaborate with INEC Mauritius to create awareness about Agenda 2063 in Mauritius. He further elaborated on the genesis of INEC Mauritius and invited CSOs to join the clusters. Cluster Heads were officially invited at this event and at the end there was an informal networking session along with the National President.

[4] Courtesy Call at the State House

Building upon the momentum created on 12th September 2015; a Courtesy Call was arranged with Her Excellency Dr Ameenah Gurib-Fakim, GCSK, CSK, President of the Republic of Mauritius on Tuesday 15th September 2015 at the State-House, Reduit. Standing Committee Member and Chair for Infrastructure & Energy, Dr Chintaram led the delegation along with National President Mr. Daneshar Babooa.





Dr G.Raj Chintaram extended the warm greetings of ECOSOCC's Presiding Officer, Dr Chilengi, and presented a special token (carved-wood map of Africa) on behalf of AU ECOSOCC to Her Excellency Gurib-Fakim.



Dr Chintaram officially introduced the National President and the Cluster Heads to HE The President.

(INEC) Mauritius

National President: Mr. Daneshar Babooa Executive Assistant: Ms. M.M.Charlotte Ciceron

SN	CLUSTER	CLUSTER HEAD
1	Peace & Security	Mrs. Allia Syed-Hossen Gooljar
2	Political Affairs	Maulana-Immam Arshad M.Joomun
3	Infrastructure & Energy	Mr. Desha Madoo
4	Social Affairs & Health	Mr. Jagdish Seegolam
5	Human Resources, Science & Technology	Mr. Ajay Kumar Bissoonauth
6	Trade & Industry	Mrs. Leena Parmar
7	Rural Economy & Agriculture	Mr. Paramasiva Chengan
8	Economic Affairs	Ms. Sanjala Sumputh
9	Women & Gender	Dr. Gaitree Gowreesunkar
10	Cross-Cutting Programmes	Mr. Vinesh Chintaram