

UNIÃO AFRICANA

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia P. O. Box 3243 Telephone: +251 11 551 7700 / +251 11 518 25 58/ Ext 2558

Web site: www. au.int

DIRECTORATE OF INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATION

MEDIA ADVISORY

Opening session of the 22nd Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the African Union

- **WHAT**: Opening session of the 22nd Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the African Union. The opening ceremony will comprise the following agenda items:
 - H.E. Ato Hailemariam Dessalegn, Prime Minister of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia and Chairman of the African Union, declares the beginning of the Session (2 minutes)
 - AU Anthem (3 minutes)
 - Minute of silence in memory of the Late former President Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela of the Republic of South Africa
 - Statement by H.E. Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, Chairperson of the Commission of the African Union (10 minutes)
 - Statement by H.E. Mr. Mahmoud Abbas, President of the State of Palestine and Chairman of Palestine Liberation Organisation (PLO) Executive Committee (7 minutes)
 - Statement by H.E. Dr. Nabil Elaraby, Secretary General of the League of Arab States (LAS) (7 Minutes)
 - Statement by the Guest of Honour, H.E. Mrs. Park Geun-hye, President of the Republic of Korea (7 minutes)
 - Opening Statement by H.E. Ato Hailemariam Dessalegn, Prime Minister of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia and Chairman of the African Union (15 minutes)
 - Election of the Chairperson of the African Union and members of the Bureau and members of the Drafting Committee (Announcement of the results of the elections by the Dean of the African Diplomatic Corps) (7 minutes)
 - Acceptance Statement by the incoming Chairperson of the Union (7 minutes)
 - Awards Ceremony for the Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards for 2014 (10 minutes)
 - Prof. Andre Bationo, from Burkina Faso, Winner in the field of Earth and Life Sciences
 - Prof. Kayode Oyebode Adebowale, from Nigeria, Winner in the field of Basic Sciance, Technology and Innovation
 - ALMA Award Ceremony for selected Laureates by the chair of ALMA, H.E. Armando Guebuza, President of the Republic of Mozambique
 - Signing of AU Treaties (continuous during the Session)
 - Launch of "2014 Year of Agriculture and Food Security, Marking 10th Anniversary of the Adoption of the Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP)"

A group photograph is scheduled immediately after the opening ceremony. Strict order and discipline are advised for the taking of the photograph.

- **WHEN**: 30 January 2014 at 10:00. Media personnel are advised to arrive early in order to be in position in time for the opening ceremony.
- WHERE: Large Conference Hall, African Union Headquarters, Addis Ababa Ethiopia

Media personnel are advised to refer to the attached media tips for information on how to access the AU premises and conference rooms, as well as facilities and services available for all media.

For further information contact

Directorate of Information and Communication | African Union Commission I E-mail: <u>dinfo@african-union.org</u> I Web Site: <u>www.au.int</u> I Addis Ababa | Ethiopia

Follow us

Face book: <u>https://www.facebook.com/AfricanUnionCommission</u> Twitter: <u>https://twitter.com/_AfricanUnion</u> YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/AUCommission

Learn more at: http://www.au.int