



UNIÃO AFRICANA

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia P. O. Box 3243 Telephone: +251 11 551 7700 / +251 11 518 25 58/ Ext 2558

Web site: www. au.int.

DIRECTORATE OF INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATION

PRESS RELEASE N0.24/ 22nd AU SUMMIT

New Chairperson and members of the bureau elected at AU Assembly meeting



Addis Ababa, 30 January 2014. This morning marked the official opening of the 22ndOrdinary Session of the Assembly of Heads of States and Governments of the African Union.

The Dean of the Diplomatic Corps, the Ambassador of the Democratic Republic of Congo announced the results of the election to the Assembly.

The new Chairperson of the African Union is Mr Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz, President of the Islamic Republic

of Mauritania. He replaces former Chairperson Mr. Hailemariam Dessalegn, Prime Minister of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia.

Zimbabwe was elected as first Vice President, the second Vice Presidency went to the Democratic Republic of Congo and the third Vice President is Nigeria. Ethiopia was designated as Rapporteur.

BBT/ eta/wzm

For further information contact

Directorateof Information and Communication | African Union Commission | E-mail: dinfo@african-union.org | Web Site: www.au.int | Addis Ababa | Ethiopia

Follow us

Face book: https://www.facebook.com/AfricanUnionCommission

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ AfricanUnion

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/AUCommission

Learn more at: http://www.au.int