African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM)

Purpose

The African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) was established in 2003 by the New Partnership for Africa (NEPAD) Heads of State and Government Implementation Committee (HSGIC) as an instrument for monitoring performance in governance among Member States. The APRM is a selfmonitoring instrument and its membership is voluntary.

The Mechanism's primary objective is to foster the adoption of policies, values, standards and practices of political and economic governance that lead to political stability, accelerated sub-regional and continental economic integration, economic growth and sustainable development.

By joining the APRM, Member States agree to voluntarily and independently review their compliance with African and international governance commitments. Performance and progress are measured in four thematic areas: democracy and political governance; economic governance and management; corporate governance; and socio-economic development.

Reviews include the executive, legislative and judicial branches of government, the private sector, civil society and media. The first review is carried out within 18 months of a Member State joining the APRM and then every two to four years. Members can request a review outside of the usual framework, and the APRM can commission a review at the request of participating Heads of State and Government if there are signs of political and economic crisis.

Each review leads to a national programme of action for the state concerned to address problems identified. A monitoring body prepares an annual report on progress in implementing the programme of action for the APRM Forum of Heads of State and Government. Country review and implementation reports are made available to the public.

As at June 2016, 35 AU Member States had joined the APRM by signing its Memorandum of Understanding. The most recent country was Côte d'Ivoire which joined the APRM in January 2015. Seventeen (17) countries have

completed their self-assessments and have been peer-reviewed by the Forum while three (3) countries Djibouti, Chad and Senegal have completed their self-assessment and are about to be peer-reviewed at the next APR Forum. The 35 members are:

Algeria	Cote d'Ivoire	Kenya	Mozambique	South Africa
Angola	Djibouti	Lesotho	Niger	Sudan
Benin	Egypt	Liberia	Nigeria	UR of Tanzania
Burkina Faso	Equatorial Guinea	Malawi	Rwanda	Togo
Cameroon	Ethiopia	Mali	São Tomé and Príncipe	Tunisia
Chad	Gabon	Mauritania	Senegal	Uganda
Republic of Congo	Ghana	Mauritius	Sierra Leone	Zambia

Evolution

The APRM was initiated in 2002 and established in 2003 by the AU as part of the NEPAD initiative. Between 2003 and 2014, the Mechanism operated as an independent body under a memorandum of understanding signed by Member States. The APRM was formally integrated into the AU system at its June 2014 Summit. The AU Assembly formally requested the AU Commission and APRM Secretariat to consult on how to give effect to this integration. (See Assembly/AU/Draft/Dec.527(XXIII)).

Structure

The APRM has structures at both continental and national levels. The following three bodies are the structures at the continental level. • African Peer Review (APR) Forum: a committee of all participating Member States' Heads of State and Government. The Forum is the APRM's highest decision-making authority.
APRM Panel of Eminent Persons: appointed eminent persons with the responsibility of ensuring the Mechanism's independence, professionalism and credibility. Panel members are selected and appointed by the Forum for a term of up to four years, with the exception of the Chairperson who is appointed for five years.
APRM Secretariat: provides technical, coordinating and administrative support services to the APRM.

More information about each body is on the website under 'About APRM' and 'Governance Structure'.

At the national level, country guidelines call for members to put structures in place to facilitate effective implementation of the APRM. Of the countries reviewed so far, the practice has been to designate structures such as an APRM national focal point, national commission or governing council, national APR secretariat and technical research institutions.

In addition, the APRM has special support agreements with three Africa-based institutions designated by the Forum as strategic partners: the African Development Bank (AfDB), UN Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) and United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) Regional Bureau for Africa.

APRM Forum Chairpersons

H.E. Uhuru Kenyatta, president of Kenya (appointed June 2015)

H.E. Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, President of Liberia (appointed 26 May 2013) H.E. Hailemariam Dessalegn, Prime Minister of Ethiopia (2012–2013) The late H.E. Meles Zenawi, Prime Minister of Ethiopia (2007–2012) H.E. Olusegun Obasanjo, President of Nigeria (2003–2007)

Current APRM Panel

Dr. Mustapha Mekideche, Algeria (appointed in January 2012 he became Chairperson from June 2015)

Prof. Mahamoud Youssouf Khayal, Chad (appointed in January 2014, Vice Chairperson from June 2015)

Amb. Ashraf Rashed, Egypt (appointed in January 2012)

Hon. Tsang Mang Kin, Mauritius (appointed in January 2013)

Amb. Fatuma Ndangiza Nyirakobwa, Rwanda (appointed in January 2012)

Hon. Brigitte Mabandla, South Africa (appointed in January 2015) Prof. Al-Amin Abu-Manga Mohammed, Sudan (appointed in January 2014) Hon. Edem Kodjo, Togo (appointed in January 2014) Panel Bureau 2015–16

Panel Bureau 2015–16

Chairperson: Dr. Mustapha Mekideche, Algeria (from June 2015) Vice-Chairperson: Prof. Mahamoud Youssouf Khayal, Chad (from June 2015)

Panel Bureau 2014–15

Chairperson: Amb. Fatuma Ndangiza Nyirakobwa, Rwanda (from January 2014) Vice-Chairperson: Amb. Ashraf Rashed, Egypt (from January 2014)

Panel Bureau 2013–14

Chairperson: Barrister Akere T Muna, Cameroon (from May 2013) Vice-Chairperson: Amb. Fatuma Ndangiza Nyirakobwa, Rwanda (from May 2013)

Physical Address: 230, 15th Road; 1st Floor; Randjies Park; Midrand; 1682 Johannesburg South Africa

Internet: <u>www.aprm-au.org</u> Private Bag x09; Halfway House, 1685 Midrand Johannesburg South Africa

Facebook: <u>www.facebook.com/AfricanPeerReviewMechanism?ref=hl</u> Twitter: @APRMorg YouTube: <u>www.youtube.com/user/APRMechanism</u>

Chief Executive Officer of the APRM Secretariat: Edward Maloka (appointed at the 24th Summit of the APR Forum of Heads of State and Government of participating countries that was held on the 29th January 2016 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.