



UNIÃO AFRICANA

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia P. O. Box 3243 Telephone: +251 11 551 7700 / +251 11 518 25 58/ Ext 2558 **Website: www.au.africa**

DIRECTORATE OF INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATION

PRESS RELEASE Nº39/2018

AFRICAN UNION COMMISSION & THE GOVERNMENT OF RWANDA SIGNS A HOST AGREEMENT IN PREPARATION OF THE EXTRAORDINARY SUMMIT OF THE AFCFTA



Kigali, Rwanda, 15 March 2018: Mr. Mourad Ben Dhiab, Secretary General (SG) of the African Union, Commission (AUC) and Mr. Claude Nikobisanezwe, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Cooperation & EAC of the Republic of Rwanda, representing the host country, on Thursday 15 March 2018, signed a host agreement for hosting the meetings of the Permanent Representatives Committee, the Eighteenth Extraordinary Session of the Executive Council and the Extraordinary Session of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government.

The event will hold from 17-21 March 2018 at the Convention Center in Kigali.

The signing ceremony took place in the Meeting Room of the Serena Hotel, Kigali, Rwanda, following the Assembly Decision made during the January AU Summit, to hold an extraordinary Session of the Assembly on 21 March 2018 in Kigali, Rwanda, to consider, adopt and sign the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) Legal instruments; and to hold an Extraordinary session of the Executive council on 19 March 2018, to consider the AfCFTA Legal instruments for submission to the Extraordinary session of the Assembly.

During the event, Mr. Nikobisanezwe reiterated the commitment of his country to ensure a successful Summit meeting.

AUC's Secretary General thanked Mr. Nikobisanezwe for the good cooperation.

Media contacts:

Esther Azaa Tankou, Head of Information Division, Tel. +251 911361185, / E-mail: yamboue@africa-union.org /

Directorate of Information and Communication | African Union Commission II Addis Ababa | Ethiopia / Web Site: www.au.africa

Follow us:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AfricanUnionCommission

Twitter: https://twitter.com/_AfricanUnion

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/AUCommission