AFRICAN UNION الاتحاد الأفريقي



SOUTHERN AFRICA REGIONAL OFFICE

Lilongwe 3, MALAWI P. O. Box 30898 Tel: +265 1 775 335/ +265 1 774 878 Fax: +265 1 775 330 E-mail: oausaro@africa-union.org

PRESS RELEASE

AUC Preparatory Mission for the Summit of the Committee of 10 Heads of States and Government Championing Education, Science and Technology in Africa.

Lilongwe, 15th **May, 2018**: The African Union Commission (AUC) has been on a two-day preparatory Mission to the Republic of Malawi for the hosting of the Summit of the Committee of ten Heads of State and Government (C10), Championing Education, Science and Technology in Africa, scheduled to take place this year.

This follows the offer by Malawian President, Professor Peter Mutharika to host the first summit of the C10 in 2018.



The Mission team with members of Malawi government and the Summit local organizing team in Lilongwe, Malawi

The Mission comprises H.E. Prof Sarah Anyang Agbor, Commissioner of Human Resources, Science and Technology; Dr Mahama Ouedraogo, Acting Director of Human Resources, Science and Technology, H.E. Dr Leopold-Auguste Ngomo, AU Regional Delegate to Southern Africa, SADC and COMESA, and Dr Yohannes Woldetensae, Senior Expert in the AU Education Division, has met with various strategic actors in Malawi government including Ministry of Education Science and Technology, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation and the local organizing committee for the Summit. After the meetings, the mission paid courtesy calls to the Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Dr. Emmanuel Fabiano and Minister of Education, Science and Technology, Bright Msaka. The team has described the preparations by Malawi government satisfactory, an indication that Malawi is ready to host the C10 Summit.

The African Head of States and Governments during the 25th Assembly established the Committee of 10 Heads of State and Government (two from each geographic region of Africa) as African champions of Education, Science and Technology and endorsed President Macky Sall of Senegal as the first coordinator of the group champions. West Africa is represented by Senegal and Sierra Leone; North Africa, Egypt and Tunisia; Southern Africa, Malawi and Namibia; East African, Kenya and Mauritius, and Central Africa, Chad and Gabon.

The initiative is part of the efforts to strengthen the role of Science and Technology towards economic growth on the continent. The Committee supports the implementation of the Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy for Africa and ensures that it drives economic growth in Africa. This commitment was also in line with earlier commitments in the Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy for Africa (STISA 2024) and in supporting the fulfilment of the African Union Agenda 2063 adopted in 2013 during the 50th Anniversary of the OAU.

For more information, contact AU-SARO, P.O. Box 30898, Lilongwe 3, Malawi. Tel: +265 1775335; Email: ausaro@africa-union.org

-END-