An Integrated, Prosperous and Peaceful Africa.

Top Banner Slides


Members of the African Union Commission on International Law

Members of the African Union Commission on International Law

February 08, 2017


The AUCIL Members current composition is as follows:


  1. 1.            Amb. Prof. Sebastião Da Silva Isata Pereira, Chairperson                  (Angola)

2.            Justice Abdi Ismael HERSI, Vice–Chairperson                                  (Djibouti)

3.            Prof. Hajer GUELDICH, General Rapporteur                                     (Tunisia)

4.            Dr. Mohamed BARAKAT, Member                                                     (Egypt)

5.            Amb. Juliet Semambo KALEMA, Member                                          (Uganda)

6.            Prof. Daniel Makiesse MWANAWANZAMBI, Member                        (Democratic Republic of the Congo)

7.            Prof. Boniface Obinna OKERE, Member                                            (Nigeria)

8.            Justice. Kholisani SOLO, Member                                                      (Botswana)

9.            Justice Naceesay SALLA-WADDA, Member                                      (The Gambia)

10.            Amb. Prof. Cheikh Tidiane THIAM, Member                                       (Senegal)



The AUCIL Members are elected as follows:


At its Twenty-Eighth Ordinary Session held from 30 – 31 January 2017, the Assembly vide Decision Assembly/AU/Draft/Dec.13(XXVIII) appointed the following AUCIL Member:


Kathleen Quartey AYENSU[1]                (Ghana)



At its Twentieth Ordinary Session held from 27 – 28 January 2013 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, the Assembly vide Decision Assembly/AU/Dec.471(XX) appointed the following AUCIL Members:


1.            Rafaâ Ben ACHOUR                                              (Tunisia)

2.            Daniel Makiese MWANAWANZAMBI                  (Democratic Republic of the Congo)

3.            Boniface Obina OKERE                                         (Nigeria)

4.            Naceesay SALLA-WADDA                                    (The Gambia)

5.            Kholisan SOLO                                                        (Botswana)



At its Thirteenth Ordinary Session held from 1 – 3 July 2009 in Libya, Sirte, the Assembly vide Decision Assembly/AU/Dec.249(XIII) appointed the following AUCIL Members:


1.            Rafaa Ben ACHOUR                                            (Tunisia)

2.            Ebenezer APPREKU[2]                                           (Ghana)

3.            Nkurunziza DONATIEN                                        (Burundi)

4.            Minelik Alemu GETAHUN                                    (Ethiopia)

5.            Filali KAMEL                                                           (Algeria)

6.            Lilian Bokeeye MAHIRI-ZAJA                              (Kenya)

7.            Adelardus KILANGI                                               (Tanzania)

8.            Kholisani SOLO                                                     (Botswana)

9.            Blaise TCHIKAYA                                                  (Congo)

10.         Atanazio Kayafa TEMBO                                      (Malawi)

11.         Cheikh Tidiane THIAM                                          (Senegal)


[1] In accordance with Article 12 (3) and (4) of the AUCIL Statute, Kathleen Quartey Ayensu, a Ghanaian national was appointed to serve for the remaining three (3)- year term of the late Mr. Ebenezer Appreku who was elected for a five (5) year term by the Twenty-sixth Ordinary Session of the Executive Council held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia from 23-27 January 2015.

[2] Mr. Ebenezer Appreku passed away in September 2016.