An Integrated, Prosperous and Peaceful Africa.

Top Banner Slides

AUC Deputy Chairperson

The Deputy Chairperson of the AUC assists the Chairperson in the execution of his or her functions to ensure the smooth running of the Commission and is in charge of administration and finance. The Deputy acts as the Chairperson in his or her absence. The Deputy Chairperson is elected by the Assembly for a four-year term, renewable once. Election is by secret ballot and a two-thirds majority of Member States eligible to vote. The Deputy must not be from the same region as the Chairperson of the Commission. Elections and terms are governed by the AU Assembly Rules of Procedure and the Commission Statutes

The current deputy chairperson of the African Union Commission is Mr. Thomas Kwesi Quartey

Deputy Chairpersons of the African Union Commission

  • 2017– current- Thomas Kwesi Quartey, Ghana
  • 2008–12, 2012–17 - Erastus Mwencha, Kenya
  • 2003–08 - Patrick Kayumba Mazimhaka, Rwanda