An Integrated, Prosperous and Peaceful Africa.

Top Banner Slides

African Union Commission Department of Rural Economy and Agriculture

The Department’s mandate is to boost AU Member States’ rural economy development and agricultural productivity by supporting the adoption of measures, strategies, policies and programmes on agriculture. It works closely with the Regional Economic Communities (RECs) and other partners. Key tasks include to: develop programmes ensuring food security; promote rural communities’ initiatives and transfer of technologies; coordinate efforts to eradicate poverty and combat desertification and drought; promote agricultural products by small-scale producers; support the harmonisation of policies and strategies between the RECs; and initiate research on climate change, water and sanitation management. The Department has three divisions: Agriculture and Food Security; Environment, Climate Change, Water, Land and Natural Resources; and Rural Economy. The Department’s flagship programme is the Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP). The Department also works with the following offices and agencies: Inter-African Phytosanitary Council (IAPSC); Coordinating Office for the Development Project of the Fouta Djallon Region; Inter-African Bureau for Animal Resources (IBAR); Pan African Veterinary Vaccine Centre (PANVAC); Pan African Tsetse and Trypanosomiasis Eradication Campaign (PATTEC); and Semi-Arid Food Grain Research and Development (SAFGRAD). See the Other Bodies Related to the AU chapter for details.

Contact Commissioner,Rural Economy and Agriculture H.E.Sacko Josefa Leonel Correa Tel: (251) 11 551 77 00 e-mail:;

Director Dr. Godfrey Bahiigwa Tel: (251) 11 551 77 00, E-mail: