Block Data

African Union Commission on International Law

The establishment of the AUCIL was inspired by the common objectives and principles enshrined in the Constitutive Act of the African Union, notably Articles 3 and 4 which underscores the importance of accelerating the socio-economic development of the Continent through the promotion of research in all fields. It was also inspired by the common goal to strengthen and consolidate the principles of international law and to agree on common approaches to international legal development, as well as to continue to work towards maintaining standards in important areas of international law.


November 30, 2017 to December 12, 2017
December 05, 2016 to December 06, 2016
October 19, 2015 to October 20, 2015

The AUCIL shall be composed of eleven (11) Members. The AUCIL Members are elected by the Executive Council of the African Union for a period of five (5) years. Members of the AUCIL are eligible for re-election only once.

Current Bureau
Sebastião Da Silva Isata Pereira Bravo

Abdi Ismael Hersi

General Rapporteur
Hajer Gueldich

Studies and Other Activities

The AUCIL Members serve as Special Rapporteur, wherein the AUCIL identify and prepare draft instruments and studies in areas which have not yet been regulated by international law in the African continent or been sufficiently developed in the practice of African States.


The History of the AUCIL started with the fifth Ordinary session of the Executive Council vide Decision EX.CL/Dec.129(V) in July 2004 held in Addis Ababa.

The Executive Council took note of the proposal by a meeting of experts on the review of OAU/AU Treaties on the need for the establishment of an African Commission of International Law.