Block Data

African Union Commission on International Law

The establishment of the AUCIL was inspired by the common objectives and principles enshrined in the Constitutive Act of the African Union.


The AUCIL shall be composed of eleven (11) Members. The AUCIL Members are elected by the Executive Council of the African Union for a period of five (5) years. Members of the AUCIL are eligible for re-election only once.

Studies and Other Activities

The AUCIL Members serve as Special Rapporteur, wherein the AUCIL identify and prepare draft instruments and studies in areas which have not yet been regulated by international law in the African continent or been sufficiently developed in the practice of African States.


The History of the AUCIL started with the fifth Ordinary session of the Executive Council vide Decision EX.CL/Dec.129(V) in July 2004 held in Addis Ababa.

The Executive Council took note of the proposal by a meeting of experts on the review of OAU/AU Treaties on the need for the establishment of an African Commission of International Law.