New Partnership For Africa’s Development (NEPAD)

Heads of State and Government Orientation Committee Chairperson: Macky Sall, Senegal
(elected in January 2013 for a two-year term, renewable once)
NEPAD Agency Chief Executive Officer: Ibrahim Assane Mayaki, Niger (appointed by the AU Assembly on 2 February 2009)

The New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD) is the pan-African strategic framework for the socio-economic development of the continent. NEPAD was officially adopted by the AU in 2002 as the primary mechanism to coordinate the pace and impact of Africa’s development in the 21st century. Its primary objective is to provide a new mechanism, spearheaded by African leaders, to:
• Eradicate poverty
• Place African countries, both individually and collectively, on a path of sustainable growth and development
• Halt the marginalisation of Africa in the globalisation process
• Accelerate the empowerment of women
• Fully integrate Africa into the global economy.

NEPAD is primarily implemented at the Regional Economic Community (REC) level. It is widely used by international financial institutions, UN agencies and Africa’s development partners as
a mechanism to support African development efforts.

NEPAD evolved from three initiatives designed to address the complex challenges to growth faced by African states: the Millennium Africa Recovery Plan (MAP), led by former South African President Thabo Mbeki; the Omega Plan, developed by the former President of Senegal, Abdoulaye Wade; and the New African Initiative (NAI), which combined the first two initiatives. In 2001, these were reworked and expanded to provide a framework for all African states. NEPAD was adopted in 2001 by the OAU 37th Summit and ratified by the AU in 2002 at its first summit.

The NEPAD Heads of State and Government Implementation Committee (HSGIC), which was established in 2001, was transformed into the NEPAD Heads of State and Government Orientation Committee (HSGOC) in 2010. This decision was in line with the integration of NEPAD into AU structures and processes, and the transformation of the NEPAD Secretariat into the NEPAD Planning and Coordinating Agency (NPCA) as a technical arm of the AU.

NEPAD is governed by the HSGOC and the NEPAD Steering Committee. The AU Assembly oversees NEPAD and considers and adopts recommendations from the HSGOC Chairperson.

The HSGOC provides leadership to the NEPAD process and sets policies, priorities and programmes of action. It oversees the NEPAD Agency and the Steering Committee. The HSGOC comprises 20 African states – NEPAD’s five initiating countries (Algeria, Egypt, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa) and 15 members elected on the basis of the AU’s five regions, usually for two-year terms. The Chairperson of the AU Commission also participates in HSGOC summits. In line with AU Assembly decision 205(XI) of 2008, the 11th Assembly endorsed an HSGOC proposal to include the AU Assembly Chairperson’s state as a member during his or her tenure, if not so already. The HSGOC meets at Heads of State and Government level.

Steering Committee
The NEPAD Steering Committee is responsible for developing the terms of reference for identified programmes and projects. It provides policy guidance and strategic advice to the NEPAD Agency, as well as overseeing it. The Committee consists of representatives
nominated by the HSGOC members – two from each of the five NEPAD initiating countries and one from each of the elected members. In addition, representatives from the eight AU- recognised RECs, the AU Commission, African Development Bank (AfDB), UN Development Programme (UNDP), UN Office of the Special Adviser on Africa (UN-OSAA) and the UN Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) participate in Steering Committee meetings.

Planning and Coordinating Agency
The Agency coordinates and administers NEPAD’s activities. It is a secretariat based in Midrand, South Africa, and designated as an AU technical body. The Agency’s core mandate is to facilitate and coordinate the implementation of regional and continental priority programmes and projects, and to push for partnerships, resource mobilisation and research and knowledge management. Strategic direction is based on the following thematic areas: agriculture and food security; climate change and natural resource management; regional
integration and infrastructure; human development; economic and corporate governance; and cross-cutting issues of gender and capacity development. The Agency is financed through the AU Commission’s statutory budgets, voluntary contributions from AU Member States, and support from development partners and the private sector.

The HSGOC usually meets twice annually in the margins of AU summits, which are normally held in January and July. The Steering Committee usually meets about four times a year (NEPAD Rules of Procedure, rule 5).

Heads of State and Government Orientation Committee (HSGOC) members

Initiating states (5)
South Africa

Elected members (15) 2013–14

Central Africa

Eastern Africa
UR of Tanzania

Northern Africa

Southern Africa

Western Africa


Chairperson: Macky Sall, Senegal
Vice-Chairperson: Abdelaziz Bouteflika, Algeria
Vice-Chairperson: Egypt

Rule 15 of the NEPAD Rules of Procedure provides for a chairperson and two vice-chairpersons only (all Heads of State and Government).


Physical Address:
Gateway Park B, International Business Gateway
Cnr Challenger and Colombia Avenues
Halfway House Midrand Johannesburg South Africa

Tel: +27 11 256 3600 or 256 3615
Fax: +27 11 206 3762
Twitter: @NEPAD_AU

Postal Address: PO Box 1234
Halfway House
Midrand 1685
South Africa