An Integrated, Prosperous and Peaceful Africa.

Top Slides

Union du Maghreb Arabe (UMA)


Official website-


The first Conference  of Maghreb Economic Ministers in Tunis in 1964 established the Conseil  Permanent Cunsultatif du Maghreb (CPCM) between Algeria, Libya, Morocco, and  Tunisia, to coordinate and harmonize the development plans of the four  countries as well as interaregional trade and relations with the EU. However,  for a number of reasons, the plans never came to fruition. It was not until the  late 1980s that new impetus began to bring the parties together again. The  first Maghreb Summit of the five Heads of State, held at Zeralda (Algeria) in  June 1988, resulted in a decision to set up the Maghreb High Commission and  various specialized commissions. Finally, on February 17, 1989 in Marrakech,  the Treaty establishing the AMU was signed by the Heads of State of the five  countries.