Launch of African Scientific, Research and Innovation Council

November 29, 2018

Launch of African Scientific, Research and Innovation Council

27-29 November 2018 - Sheraton Hotel Abuja, Nigeria : Realising that Africa, needs a stronger, more dynamic and sustainable research enterprise that is important to its economy and the society; and the eminent role that African scientists, academics, researchers, engineers, innovators, funding agencies, the private sector, civil society, and entrepreneurs would play in the implementation of Africa’s transformative Agenda 2063 and the Sustainable Development Goals, the African Union Commission launched the “African Scientific, Research and Innovation Council (ASRIC)”, during its first congress held from 27 to 29, November 2018 at the Sheraton Hotel Abuja, Nigeria.

ASRIC is a pan African, platform that mobilises research and innovation excellence, and provides a sustainable space for promoting dialogue and voice of the scientific community in shaping the discourse of research and policy nexus, and allows scientists, research and other key stakeholders to be involve in the science, technology and innovation programmes of the continent.

In her statement during the inauguration, H.E Prof. Sarah Anyang Agbor, Commissioner for Human Resources, Science and Technology said, “We are gathered here, as we did about 38 years ago, when we adopted the Lagos Plan of Action. But today we are gathered to launch ASRIC as part of our unwavering efforts to create strong and functional science, technology and innovation systems for tackling our development challenges and deliver on the rising aspirations of the African citizens and the world beyond”. Africa needs African-led science and research!

The Congress of ASRIC established its governance, by electing its Bureau. The bureau is composed of the following members:

Position Area Candidate Region
Chairperson Chair of the Congress Prof. Ratemo W. Michieka East
1st Vice Chairperson Scientific Programme Prof. James S. Phiri South
2nd Vice Chairperson Innovation Prof. Mosto Onuoha West
3rd Vice Chairperson Communication Prof. Driss Ouazar North
4th Vice Chairperson Resources Mobilization Prof. Beban Sammy Chumbow Central
Secretary Executive Director of STRC Dr. Ahmed Hamdy AUC

ASRIC established three sub-committees on Science and Innovation; Communication and Resource Mobilization. ASRIC is supported by a secretariat.

For further information contact
Directorate of Information and Communication | African Union Commission I E-mail: and Mr. Hambani Masheleni, Ag. Head of Science and Technology of HRST Department Email: I Web Site: I Addis Ababa | Ethiopia